A few weeks ago I took my boyfriend to see an art show featuring paintings by a local artist and friend of mine, Julia W. White. She is very talented and unique and I enjoy her work very much.

8 of the 9 paintings in the show were based on case files her grandfather had kept while he was an attorney. Julia had all these pieces of evidence and even his memoire to reference for her paintings. While some of the cases were violent, her paintings are more evocative of the thoughts and feelings of the people affected by those who had committed the crimes. They aren’t scary or gory, more contemplative and I love how she paints animals and captures faces.

If you are local to the Tacoma area, I’d recommend checking out her show and website, which I’ll link to here.

I really enjoyed attending an art show and doing something grown up and cultured. I feel like I don’t get enough of that in my life anymore since graduating from university, so it was really nice to experience some of that again, and support my friend! I consider my self to be a creative individual, and I love supporting other creators too.